Reaching for the SuMMit

P1010901

The SuMMit Challenge was published by fastflyer on 11/19/2013. When I learned of this challenge, it intrigued me right away.  The challenge requires finding a cache near (.2 miles) 24 of the named peaks in the Santa Monica Mountains.

A quick review of the peaks showed that I had 16 of the required peaks.  16 down, 8 to go.  I’ve been working on the summits.  Today, I found 2 more (Calabasas Peak and Topanga Overlook) and also found and signed the final cache.  I still need TriPeaks, Ladyface, and Mesa Peak.  Hopefully, I will be able to finish in 3 weeks or so.

Panorama Calabasas Peak

P1010885

Today’s adventure began at the trailhead for the Secret Trail at  Secret Trail Head.   It was a DNF–not a good start for the day.  This was my first time on this trail and I enjoyed it very much.  The goal was to find CALABASAS MOTORWAY – BACK IN THE BRUSH and/or LPS – Calabasas Peak.  I found Back in the Brush quickly, but had a very difficult time with LPS – Calabasas Peak.  I only needed one, but it was nice to get both into the Found column.

P1010884

Next up was Topanga Overlook.  I had been on this trail before..  I was in the area working on some BBT caches and had some extra time, but not enough to go all the way to the Overlook.  Today, it was time to go to the Overlook and find at least 1 of the 3 qualifying caches.  I found Fee Fi Foo Fum right away, which was a good thing because I think Topanga Lookout, or … ladybug, ladybug fly away is MIA and I really didn’t want to go down the hill for Raven’s Roost.  The walk to the Overlook is about 1 mile–first hiking up, so you can then go down, then up, then down.  The return, of course, is the reverse.  I’m not sure why this area is a favorite of taggers, but there is graffiti on the road, the rocks, the walls, and the concrete platform that is the GZ for Topanga Lookout, or … ladybug, ladybug fly away.  On my return to my truck, I spoke with a volunteer Arson Watcher.  He parked his car at the trailhead and watches for suspicious behavior.  The idea is that if the arsonist knows that someone is watching, it might deter his behavior.

I finished the day’s adventure with a hike to The SuMMit Challenge’s final.  I parked at the intersection of Mulholland Highway and Las Virgenes Road. OLdweeb suggested that I might want to try the approach from the Bark Park.  Since I have already been above the Bark Park, I decided to start from the south.

P1010902

The trail parallels Las Virgenes Road for a while before turning east and climbing.  The vegetation is beyond dry.  It was dry a year ago; now it is crispy.  The last time that I was in this area, the hills were a lush green.  Not today.  I did see a lot of deer tracks.  Also coyote scat full of rabbit fur.  I guess the animals are doing OK on the dry grasses.

When I got to The SuMMit Challenge’s final, I decided to take OLdweeb’s advice and return via the Bark Park.  The distance is shorter and the trail had some caches where returning the way I came would have just been backtracking.  I called my wife and arranged for a shuttle back to my truck.  Then I got hiking and found 7 caches on the way out.

I  enjoyed the full day of hiking.  It was nice to spend the day on the trail.  I’m also looking forward to finishing the SuMMit Challenge.

calabasas peak 140106

Calabasas Peak track–North to the left–3.8 miles in-and-out, 1400 ft gain/loss.

topanga overlook 140106

Topanga Overlook track–North to the left–2.0 miles in-and-out–540 ft gain/loss

summit final

The SuMMit Final–North to the left–5.4 miles south-to-north–1850 ft gain/1700 ft loss

Leave a comment